Breaking news-01

28 June – The Department of Labour are currently conducting Health and Safety Inspections, focusing on Covid compliance.

Inspectors from the Department of Labour are appointed in terms of section 63 (1) of the Basic Conditions of Employment Act, 75 of 1997, as amended to monitor and enforce the following legislation:· Basic Conditions of employment Act, 75 of 1997;· Compensation for Occupational Injury and Diseases Act, 130 of 1993;· Employment Equity Act, 55 of 1998;· Occupational Health and Safety Act, 85 of 1993;· Unemployment Insurance Act, 30 of 1996.

Employers would like to comply with labour legislation, but are often not sure on which areas to focus. The Department of Labour requests employers to cooperate and assist inspectors when they visit the various workplaces. It is very important to remember that if any object or document is removed as part of the inspection, employers may insist on a receipt.

Click here, for a list that is a handy indicator of the kind of questions that can be expected from labour inspectors. Over and above that, please note that the latest OHS direction requires a risk assessment in terms of covid-19 exposure risk in the workplace.

Labour inspectors may not be accompanied by any political parties, civil organisations, etc. If such a situation occurs, employers may contact the different provincial chief inspectors (contact details below):

Chief Director Statutory and Advocacy Services
Adv Fikiswa Mncanca- Bede
Tel: 012 3094774
Cell: 0796990622
Fikiswa.Mncanca@labour.gov.za​

Chief Inspector
Tibor Szana
Tel: 012 3094389
Cell: 0828835737
Tibor.Szana@labour.gov.za

Eastern Cape
Ms Patiswa Mbongwana​ (Acting PCI)
Tel: 0437013287/ 0437013279
Cell: 060 992 7267
Patiswa.M​bongwana@labour.gov.za

Kulungile Nkanjeni (Specialist)
Cell: 0609927332

Free State
Mr Manelisi Luxande (PCI)
Tel: 0515056325
Cell: 0663043469
Manelisi.Luxande@labour.gov.za

Makalo Khoele (Specialist)
Cell: 0760470282

Gauteng
Adv Michael Msiza (PCI)
Tel: 0123095110
Cell: 0829008131
Michael.Msiza@labour.gov.za

Lesibe Raphale (Specialist)
Cell: 0767649964

KwaZulu-Natal
Mr Edward Khambula (PCI)
Tel: 0313662201/ 0313662203
Cell: 0609859286
Edward.Khambula@labour.gov.za

Sandile Kubeka (Specialist)
Cell: 0609942436

Limpopo Province
Mr Phaswane Tladi (PCI)
Tel: 0152901613
Cell: 0825043801
Phaswane.Tladi@labour.gov.za

Carol Mthethwa (Specialist)
Cell: 0716849584

Mpumalanga
Ms Pearl Dyalvani (Acting PCI)
Tel: 0136558775
Cell: 0724632575
Nonyaniso.Njwambe@labour.gov.za

Nhlanhla Mbuyazi (Specialist)
Cell: 0724617999

North West
Mr Boikie Mampuru (PCI)
Tel: 0183878104
Cell: 0829082308
Boikie.Mampuru@labour.gov.za

Lucia Ramusi (Specialist)
​ Cell: 0824900808

Northern Cape
Mr Ivan Vass (PCI)
Tel: 0538381502
Cell: 0828026796/ 0823632277
Ivan.Vass@labour.gov.za

Isaac Mohapi (Specialist)
Cell: 0724693689

Western Cape
Mr David Esau (PCI)
Tel: 0214418088/ 0214418208
Cell: 0827914485
David.Esau@labour.gov.za

Fezeka Ngalo (Specialist)
Cell: 0827916244

Cooperating with labour inspectors are key and with this short guide our hope is that employers will feel more prepared for inspections.

Share the Post